The Lake St.Clair Network: DNR Reminds Boaters About Law, Safety Classes

Jump to content

Anchor Bay Chamber of Commerce
36341 Front St, Suite 2
New Baltimore, MI 48047
Maples Shirts
21225 Evergreen St.
St. Clair Shores, MI 48082
Emerald City Harbor
24200 Jefferson
St. Clair Shores, MI 48080
Lake Shore Boat Top
100 Meadowbrook St.
Detroit, MI 48214

DNR Reminds Boaters About Law, Safety Classes -----

Apr 02 2013 08:38 PM | Capt'n Adam  in Featured Content

The arrival of spring, and start of April, signals another boating season for boaters on Lake St. Clair and other waterways.

With the start of the season, the Michigan Department of Resources reminds those planning to operate a watercraft this year to take a boating safety course.

"Spring is a great time to get your boating safety class in, so that you start the summer boating season with safety requirements fresh in your mind," said boating law administrator Lt. Andrew Turner of the DNR's Law Enforcement Division, said in a release. "We encourage anyone who plans on operating a watercraft in Michigan to take a boating safety course."

There are a variety of classroom and online options available for boaters.

Boating safety requirements in Michigan are as follows according to the DNR:

  • Those born on or after July 1, 1996 (new in 2012, as a result of Public Act 0120), are required to have a boater's safety certificate to operate a motorboat. Those younger than 16 years of age also require adult supervision;
  • Persons younger than 14 years of age may not legally operate a PWC;
  • Those 14 and 15 years of age may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate and if he or she is accompanied on board by his or her parent or legal guardian or by a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian, or he or she is operating or riding the PWC at a distance of not more than 100 feet from his or her parent or guardian or from a person at least 21 years old who has been designated by the parent or guardian;
  • Those at least 16 years of age and born after Dec. 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate; and
  • Those born on or before Dec. 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally without restrictions.

0 Comments

Page 1 of 1

chazman21 

24 March 2015 - 10:49 AM
What is now legal alcohol percentage allowable on the water when operating a boat or PWC ?

It use to be .1% now I heard it was lowered to .08%
0
Page 1 of 1



The Lake St. Clair Network is a local social network for Lake St.Clair and surrounding waterways such as Detroit River, Clinton River, Lake Erie, Lake Huron and Lake Michigan.
We are the #1 source for Lake St.Clair Fishing Reports, Ice Fishing, Lake St. Clair News, Lake St.Clair Boating, Michigan Fishing and Michigan Hunting.