Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
387 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I don't post here regularly, and I know the topic of power loading has been discussed to death here before... but I feel as if I need to share my recent experiences with those who think that there are no ill effects to power loading.

Went out to Metro on Saturday to test out my brand new lab finished props on my 32' Offshore style boat. I've been launching here for the last three years with this boat, so I knew there is plenty of water, even with the water at lower levels. So, I launch the boat, lower the drives (to half way point), fire up the motors, and proceed to back out. Right as I approached the back of the dock, I hear a loud grinding noise coming from the port drive. I quickly pull it into neutral and raise the drive all the way up. Sure enough, I ran over a gravel pile.

WTF? How did a gravel pile get there?!?

As I did some investigating, I learned that the park maintenance recently put down a layer of gravel to prevent people from losing the trailers over the edge of the ramp. Since this gravel was recently laid down, ALL THE GODDAMN POWERLOADERS pushed the new gravel into a pile at the end of the dock that was about 12 inches deep. I even took out the old yard stick and dipped it into the water off the dock to prove this theory. Sure enough, a nice 5 foot deep hole was right at the end of the launch with a 1 foot gravel bar at the end of the dock. I'll entertain other ideas on how this might have happened, but as of now, I am blaming this 100% on power loaders!!!