Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Last weekend I went up to my brothers house on Saturday and he spotted a Sheriff on the side of the road with a deer lying down,and struggling to stay alive from an arrow wound, so the cop shot it, and gave it to my brother. Very nice 6 point buck. So I took it down here to my dad's and butchered it on Sunday.

Awesome. I didn't even have to go into the woods yet!

·
Registered
4,286 Posts
I haven't been hunting since I move down her from Gaylord!

·
Premium Member
9,536 Posts
I am happy he did the humane thing....thanks to the person who didn't take the time to properly shoot it, track it, honor it.

·
Registered
790 Posts
Garydebs - I detect a bit of sarcasm in your last sentence. In my opinion, without knowing the circumstances you may have been a little harsh. I have been hunting with a bow for over 25 years and I know that sometime a shot can go awry. 3 years ago my arrow hit a branch when I shot at a buck and it hit him in the back leg. I had to track that deer for nearly 4 miles and 6 hours before I recovered it. I suppose that anywhere along the line he could have lied down along the road and been found by an officer and it would have appeared as though somebody just shot and didn't care. All bowhunters know that a part of the hunt is that there is a chance that you may wound and animal and not be able to locate it. Since in this case the deer was still alive the hunter may not have had the time to complete his tracking and locate the deer which he may have done given enough time.

Just my thoughts.

·
Premium Member
9,536 Posts