Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
629 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having exhausted attempts to transfer within my company, I am ready to quit my job and move back to Michigan.

Wisconsin is a nice place to visit, but I don't want to live here. It's time to return to civilization. My wife, son and I will stay with family for a short time while we look for employment and a place to live.

I have been trying for over a year to get back but nothing is working out. I should be able to land work pretty quickly as I've been in the IT industry for over 15 years. I might add that I'm a Programmer within the finance community, banking related. I should be able to find something in that area. I also can return to my company within a year without loosing any time. We have a business unit in Troy.

The family back there is concerned that we are making a mistake. I don't think that's the case. It's not a decision that was hatched over night. There are so many reasons to return and very few to stay.

I'm looking for some feed back from all of the LSCN folks. Positive or negative. Are we crazy? What say you?

·
Registered
8,011 Posts
I can say little. I have been here since I was about 1 and don't know what it's like to live in other places. I can say that jobs are scarce here and IT is not where you might end up.

·
Registered
670 Posts
Check out Denver; great place to raise a family plus a large IT workforce. Come back to MI only after you've looked at all your options.

·
Vendor
14,664 Posts