Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have enjoyed reading through the forums, seems like you have a nice little community here.

I was curious about recommended boat sizes/types for Lake St. Clair. I am looking at getting a new fishing boat - i want something big enough to do lake st. clair area, but something small enough I can tow up north for smaller lakes, etc.

I am new to the Windsor area, so haven't fished much here (yet!) so I am not familiar with typical conditions, etc. on the lake =)

Thanks in Advance for any advice/tips/help!

Cheers,
Bley

·
Registered
216 Posts
For general "all purpose" fishing and St. Clair capability, I would recommend a quality 18' deep and wide aluminum boat and a 4 stroke outboard(preferably Honda). This would require minimal upkeep and maintenance and provide years of use. It will be plenty seaworthy for St. Clair in all but the very worst days and still mobile enough to trailer up north and into smaller lakes.

·
Registered
10,622 Posts
18 foot Deep V hull would be a good ticket, aluminum. Lots of choice's out there. Take your time and it will be good. Lund is real good. So is StarCraft.

h2o<--good luck Bley and Welcome to the Saint Clair Network.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Depends on where you want to fish, and what times. Very important. The lake can get pretty choppy, especially on the weekends from Metro to the Anchor Bay area. For example, I ran to the dumps yesterday. I launched at Harley Ensign. Little rough on the way back. 2-3' choppers. I have a 20' fiberglass v-hull. Would not want an aluminum yesterday. The aluminums are great fishing boats, and easy to haul around. If you are going to be doing some fishing in the chops in st. clair, especially driving long distances, I would go a little bigger than 18'. Maybe close to 20' And yes, that 2' makes a difference in your wave handling. Just my 2 cents. Good luck with whatever you buy

·
Registered