Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, To start I have a 19'6" aluminum fishing boat that was leaking fairly bad and decided to start from scratch so I gutted it and have many ideals but one issue I am having is that the bottom of the boat is kind of a mess. I am thinking of just fiberglassing it. Will this work hold out water? I have grinded the whole boat paint previous epoxy Im a professional metal fab,grinder/ fiberglasser and just need to know what kind do I use so it doesnt crack or leak. Also if I do this will it alter the total weight of my boat? Or me doing so will it raise the weight limit as I will be putting an industral foam in it that is eco friendly to replace the old foam it will be everywhere under floor in pannels. any help/opinions are appreciated.

· Registered
1,140 Posts
I don't think I would glass over an aluminum hull. Is it riveted or welded? Either way, I think the best bet is to repair the leaks in the same manner the boat was built (ie, rivets, welded), and seal it with a high grade marine sealant (if riveted).

Time consuming, yes, but I just gotta believe that the glass would delaminate from the alum hull if you tried it....

Either way, we like pics of your progress!!

· Registered
3,113 Posts
I agree on repair based on construction of the boat. I re-riveted an 18' Starcraft a few years back and it is leak free to this day. The epoxy/glass repairs I have seen on aluminum end up leaking anyway. My guess, it is due to the flexing of the hull when in use. You have the boat gutted so drilling out the faulty rivets and replacing using a pneumatic hammer and bucking bar should work wonders. It will also strengthen the boat. If the rivets are loose/leaking the area of weakness will increase as stress is put on adjacent rivets.