Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Vendor
Joined
·
14,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Dell computer at home with a Mill 2000 operating system.. I also have a SCSI HP scanner. I was told to load the softwear before installing the SCSI Card into the computer by the salesman at the store. But, as soon as I load the Paper Port Softwear that the scanner uses to operate it, my Modem dies and my system won't recognize it. I am afraid to take the Modem out to just install the scanner and then to put the Modem back in to see what happens.. Does anyone have any ideas on how to possible change the address for the Paper Port softwear which is causing a conflict with my Modem address??? If that is the problem???
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
12,052 Posts
Just give me the scanner. It wont work on your system.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,095 Posts
I would check the Paperport software maker's website, and see what they have for a customer support or knowledge base.

You're likely not the only person with this issue.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
18,804 Posts
I too have a SCSI scanner but the SCSI card is an ISA (I know old).....I cant use it on my new system as all I have are PCI slots. After research I have found that I can get a PCI SCSI card for about the same price as a new scanner.....

Hammer are you interested in mine?

Mini
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,435 Posts
back in the day I could have answered this in a heartbeat......How fast you lose this stuff..Need to get my manual out!!
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
14,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
QUOTE(jewels @ Oct 1 2003, 01:40 PM)back in the day I could have answered this in a heartbeat......How fast you lose this stuff..Need to get my manual out!!

Thank you Jewels.. :>)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
Give us some more info about your computer...

What OS... Windows 2000, Millenium, XP, what?

How fast is the processor?

How old is it?

If you are using PCI cards, is "plug-and-play OS" enabled in the BIOS?

Is the modem a PCI or an ISA card, and same question for the SCSI card, ISA or PCI?

It sounds like your initial modem problems may be because you are out of IRQ's.

If you are using ISA cards, you are going to have to invesitgate this (the IRQ issue) and may have to free up one for the SCSI card. If you are using PCI cards, the OS should be handling PCI IRQ sharing. With ISA cards you'll have to manage the IRQ assignments manually.

Give me some more info...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18,824 Posts
what ?

i would just do this and buy a new one ! LOL !
 

Attachments

·
Vendor
Joined
·
14,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
QUOTE(Distant_Horizon @ Oct 1 2003, 02:20 PM)Give us some more info about your computer...

What OS... Windows 2000, Millenium, XP, what?

How fast is the processor?

How old is it?

If you are using PCI cards, is "plug-and-play OS" enabled in the BIOS?

Is the modem a PCI or an ISA card, and same question for the SCSI card, ISA or PCI?

It sounds like your initial modem problems may be because you are out of IRQ's.

If you are using ISA cards, you are going to have to invesitgate this (the IRQ issue) and may have to free up one for the SCSI card. If you are using PCI cards, the OS should be handling PCI IRQ sharing. With ISA cards you'll have to manage the IRQ assignments manually.

Give me some more info...
It's a dell 1 gig, Millenium I guess. Maybe 2 years old...
The scanner has a SCSI card but I don't know what else your talking about. If I just load the softwear without connecting the SCSI card or the scanner to the computer I loose my Modem. I find the modem on the list highlighted in yellow with a questionmark. The Paperport softwear must be sharing some same address with the modem? Does this sound right to you????
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
Your machine is new enough not to have shipped with any ISA cards (or slots, probably), so I am assuming that your modem is a Winmodem, and is a PCI card.

If you post the make and model of your SCSI card, I'll take a look at that, but I am going to assume it must also be a PCI card.

PCI cards plug into the newer small white expansion card slots. The far older ISA cards plug in to a longer black slot, usually located on the far end of the PCI card sockets. Modern machines no longer include the old, slow, and non plug-and-play ISA slots.

My guess is that the paperPort software commandeered the IRQ previously used by the modem, or hijacked the address range it was using for I/O operations, or both.

Try this...

From the device manager (Start->Control Panel->System->Device Manager), uninstall the modem. (Don't physically pull it, just uninstall it's driver.)

Re-boot and let Windows find the modem again. When it discovers it again, it will assign it resources. These will be different from the originals which were hijacked. If my hypothesis on the IRQ and I/O switch were correct, your modem should now work. If not, no harm will be done.

If that fails, you'll need to have someone take a look at what happened and back it out.

Were the SCSI card drivers part of the PaperPort install disk you ran? If not, I can't see that installing the app first would be a good idea. It won't have an interface to bind to.

Let me know what happens.

You might want to use the Device Manager to take a look at assigned IRQs and see if you are full up, and determine from the list whether IRQ sharing is working if it is needed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
709 Posts
Yep - sounds like an IRQ problem;

Millenium is the first problem. Sad to say. If there ever was a good reason for aMicro$oft rebate...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,095 Posts
I'd bet for some reason the SCSI card is trying to use whatever COM port your modem is configured for.
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
12,052 Posts
QUOTE(John Maniaci @ Oct 1 2003, 01:32 PM)I too have a SCSI scanner but the SCSI card is an ISA (I know old).....I cant use it on my new system as all I have are PCI slots. After research I have found that I can get a PCI SCSI card for about the same price as a new scanner.....

Hammer are you interested in mine?

Mini
Thanks Mini, but both my systems are PCI only. For the cost of a SCSI controller card, I could buy a scanner, printer, fax, and a case of beer.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
73 Posts
I'll have to agree with Big Daddy on the fact that Millenium is the first problem... worst OS ever made.

And it isn't that the SCSI card is trying to use the COM port, it's that it has commandeered the IRQ (Interrupt Request) and memory I/O resources that were assigned to the COM port that the modem was using.

It's fixable, but you'll have some digging to do.

Your first and easiest thing to try is a reinstallation of the modem drivers. This'll be done automatically by Windows after a driver removal and a re-boot. It may take care of the issue for you. If Windows isn't properly managing the IRQs, you'll have to do it manually, and may have to free up one.
 

·
Vendor
Joined
·
14,664 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Thanks all for your help... I will try to do what you have suggested.. I kind of understand what you are saying about the scsi card??? I haven't even instaalled the card into the computer yet. Only the paperport softwear... There might also be some other softwear that was loaded with it?? I do believe that it took the same address as my modem.. Computers really suck when your not sure what your doing. The scanner worked fine on my other Gateway computer ... It was an old Windows 98 p90 computer...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
709 Posts
Distant Horizon is on the mark, it should be fixable but with a little digging in the property pages. Ahhhhhh.... the good old days of IRQ management;

The Trio of death - sound card, network adapter and MODEM. Com 8? WTF is that? How come my network access went down with the new Netscape?????!!!!! 16bit? 32 bit? LOL

You may take this opportunity to upgrade your OS. Win2K or XP will likely solve the issue for you on install.

Now that's like ten cases of beer!
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top