Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3,330 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm relatively new to fishing Lake St Clair, having just started fishing the big waters in fall of 2007, and am wondering how this spell of cooler weather might affect where the fish are likely to be holding.

Last week's warm weather appeared to have driven the fish right to many summer locations. But I'm wondering just how far they're likely to have gone, especially for the larger and presumably more migratory big toothy critters, who have preferred water temperatures in the 60s.

In other words, are they likely to return to the hot spots of a week or 2 ago, of is it likely these fish have moved far away and will be holding in different locations?

·
Premium Member
3,916 Posts
OK, from one guy new to LSC to another (so take this FWIW) I don't see them moving back. I think the recent warm/hot spell really triggered a move to the summer pattern that we've been waiting on. I think there's fish all over the lake all year round, but I think the move to the drop offs and deeper water happened, and is in progress. I raised three fish off of a "summer" spot last Friday with my Dad. I think that's why guys are getting follows and not seeing the bigger girls on a regular basis- they're in transition.

That said, I don't see them moving back into the earlier patterns, but rather reacting to this like they would a cold snap over the summer, and that's laying low, being less responsive, taking smaller baits, etc. But if I was going to fish right now (probably won't be out again until Friday) I'd try to ends of the spectrum. I'd fish lower in the water column where the water isn't as rapidly affected by day to day changes and is more stable, and I'd fish right up on top of drop offs if we get any Sun in the afternoons where the fish can come up and get some warmth before heading back to more stable water overnight/early morning.