Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8,011 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not up on the digital camera situation. I am looking to buy Dolphin a digital camera because I incoporate photographs in my surveys and developing 35 mm on CD is getting expensive.

I am thinking of a camera for like $200 ish with decent zoom and 3.2 megapixels. Can that happen?
What is digital zoom? Optical different??
I have looked at Best Buy and Meijer (they actually havfe a pretty large selection) and Circuit City.
Where else should I look?

I don't need anything really fancy, just taking basic pictures of boats.

·
Premium Member
21,452 Posts
Try http://computergeeks.com/, I bought my Kodak CX4230 there and it was $70 cheaper than Best Buy and Circuit city. My first digital camera and it takes great pics. 2.1 megapixels which is perfect for printing anything up to 5x7's, and e-mailing. I'm still learning the optical and digital zoom.

good luck

·
Premium Member
9,536 Posts
Very happy with our Sony. Bought it from Circuit City. People were very helpful. Buy extra batteries and bigger card (or try to get them to throw it in
)

·
Registered
3,784 Posts
The Sony outlet in Birchrun has some good deals. We have a Mavica , paid $300.00 for it 4 yrs ago (maybe 5) but at the time everywhere else they were alot more $$$.

·
Registered
531 Posts
I just got one off ebay, 3.2M pixtels. $80 with shipping. Vivitar.

FYI, more pixtels=better picture.

1.2 M= virtualy useless for anything but outside well lighted.

2.0= doing ok, but will be disappointed indoors

3.2= good pictures in and out, but will wish had more

More memory means greater number of pictures, while enabling you to select different levels of picture clarity.

I.E 64M of Scandisk memory lets me save 65 pictures at 1024X680 pictures, whereas I could save 350 pictures at 128X64.