Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings
This is my first post but I have fished Lake St. Clair all my life. Also vacation a couple time a year in the Florida Keys and have been following their forum for years (Florida Sportsman magazine.

This is my first year on the US side of the lake after doing almost all my fishing on Walpole Island and surroundiung channels for the past 30 years. Not going back because the bays we used to fish are so shallow and it is such a hassle to take guests over ther, so I am back to fishing places I have fished in years.

I have found the various postings about catch and release bass fishing to be very informative. I must admit that I took for granted it was all right to fish as long as the fish were released. That surely is the way it is in Florida; most guides in the Keys make their living releasing tarpon, bonefish, permit, barracuda, etc. I will do anything I can to support legal fishing.

Years ago when Ray Trombley was still alive I was an assoicate member of the Lake St. Clair Advisory Committee. Are they still active? They had some clout when Ray was running the leading the group.

I will be fishing mostly in the South Channel and will be anxious to hear if anyone starts getting walleyes. We have tried with jig and minnow and have got a few pike and even a couple smallmouth (released unharmed) in 44 degree water.

·
LSCN Sponsor
5,472 Posts
Well Blue Both Rivers and most of the Shoreline has Walleye cruising it now. The water is kind of skinny over there in the Bays but the fish are still there. It is up this year over last year and it should be on the way back up if History repeats itself. It comes up and it goes down. Mother Nature at her best. I have been fishing here forever. I've seen it lower and higher but it is the best fishing ever. Bob

·
Registered
10,622 Posts