Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to sound like a novice here, (because I am) but i was drifting on Saturday morning just outside of the mouth of the Salt River and saw a muskie surfing on the top of the water. I swear his head was out of the water and he was looking right at me as he was swimming by the back of the boat. Strangest thing I have ever seen. Is this a normal sight?
By the way I marked a ton of fish and was rewarded at the end of the day with a bunch of drowned worms.

·
LSCN Sponsor
5,472 Posts
More than likely he was feeding on May Flys. They also like those little bugers. If you see a Muskie jumping several times they are cleaning their Gills after feeding. My Two Bucks worth. Let it Go Let it Grow. Bob

·
Registered
234 Posts
Break, that fish was funnin' you. Muskies have a great sense of humor and often engage in funnin' and punkin' the fishermen who chase 'em. I've heard that they also have an inbred jealousy of Flipper and try to convince humans that Flipper's got nuthin' on a St Clair musky. So they try to do that Flipper thing where they scoot around with half their torsos out of the water. Only muskies can't do it backwards on account of their tail fin orientation. So they do what you saw instead.

Wait until one of them cruises back to your boat with a crankbait across its snout and then flips the lure over your gunwale at you. Remember, Mama told you not to come. You chose to pursue these creatures. These fish go back a long way, a lot longer than Mr L-mouth or S-mouth, evolutionarily speaking. They didn't get there by their good looks. Don't underestimate Mr or Ms Musky.

Who needs the Simpsons when we have LSC musky?!?

·
LSCN Sponsor
2,482 Posts
I don't know how many times I've had ski's come right up to the boat for no apparent reason (not chasing a bait). They are fearless.

·
Registered
234 Posts