Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Lake St. Clair boating so please bear with me on this subject. We are interested in watching the fireworks from the water . Now this is the question, how crazy is it on the water that night and where is a good place to launch from? I know some places have limited hours get on and especially off the lake. So any insight would be helpful.

TIA!

David

·
Registered
3,469 Posts
Newbie to the forum but have been to the Freedom Festival twice now. It is only crazy when the grand finale starts and everyone is in a race to get out of the river. Both times I went I anchored on the south east tip of Belle Isle, which is kinda on the border of where all the boats are and closer to the lake when leaving. Just kept a slow pace till I hit the lake and then everyone kinda spreads out and your fine. I did have a couple idiots crossin my path a little too close but nothin serious. By the way, radar is useless. It just looks like a million blips!
If ya don't wanna head into the river you could probably still get a good view from the mouth of the Detroit River. There really isn't any better place in my opinion to watch the fireworks. Having the city as a backdrop and watchin em is pretty cool. Can't help ya out on launch sites.

G

·
Dave-

This is one of my favorite events of the season. I have gone two years so far and have had a great time every year. The LSCN raft is getting bigger every year too. We always raft/anchor on the south west side of Belle Isle. It's any where from 5'-8' of water and we never have any other boat wake issues. We always stay till like midnight partying. 1. Because it's fun 2. Because of all the boat traffic. It's fun anyway to watch the parade of boats scuddle out of there. What a great time it is.