Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
685 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm usually in the fishing discussions, but I need advice from the hard core boaters.

I'm thinking of ditching my 1980 Sea Ray and buying a 1990 Formula PC 29 with twin 7.4's and Bravo 1's. Do you have any opinions about:

1. This model of Formula (size and year)

2. The overall reliability of 1990 7.4 Mercruisers

3. The durability of 1990 Bravo drives?

Any and all thoughts will be appreciated!

Thanks,

Jeff

·
Registered
685 Posts
I'm definitely getting a survey.

I was surprised when someone said, "454's break easy," and also "Bravo drives break a lot." I've never heard that from anyone else, and I'm not a newbie. Any votes for or against (for stuff built in 1990)?

·
Registered
9,469 Posts
QUOTE(Dos mangos @ Jul 19 2009, 08:16 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>great boat. great motors and great drives , get a survey

I agree!!!
QUOTE(jeffff @ Jul 19 2009, 08:51 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm definitely getting a survey.

I was surprised when someone said, "454's break easy," and also "Bravo drives break a lot." I've never heard that from anyone else, and I'm not a newbie. Any votes for or against (for stuff built in 1990)?
if it passes a survey snatch it up... you will be really happy

·
Registered
3,638 Posts
Bravo drives break a lot because a lot of people put eleventy billion horsepower in front of them. With a stock 454 in front of it it should last a very long time. Especially since you have two, that means they each have that much less work to do getting on plane.

Formulas are good boats. Twin 454's / bravos should be a good reliabile combination. Make sure you do your homework and check everything out good, though, there's a lot that can go wrong with any 20 year old boat.

·
Registered
308 Posts