Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
1,699 Posts
Our long time 27" tube TV went out, I ve spent time doing some research on new flat screens.....
Wish it was as easy as a fishing...lol . To many options & features causing delema.

The question I have is should I buy an LCD or Plasma? Below is a link for the comparison chart and my cost between the two "out the door" is only $66.00

thanks
RK

comparison info here

·
Registered
3,393 Posts
We are not huge television watchers, but ended up purchasing a 42 LCD and LOVE it..Love it even more when watching college bal games all day saturday!.after up grading to hd value from my cable provider! We have an LCD on the boat too, and it works great. I have no experience with Plasmas.

Please keep in mind, the last Television I purchased was in 1998 when the 32"/500lb Sony Trinitron was the TV to have! I still have that and it works great, just my back does not after moving it!

The new television was 2 hunfred dollars cheaper than the Sony in 1998-

The only reason for purchasing a new TV- I was in the middle of laying floors in the living room and did not want to move that heavy SOB another time that weekend!

·
Registered
9,917 Posts
I have experience with both. I have a 42" Panasonic Plasma and a 37" Sylvania LCD. The Plasma is in the living room, and the LCD is in our bedroom.

My best advice: If you do end up getting an LCD, make sure its in a room where you wont be too close to it, otherwise you will see the grainy-ness of the picture. Otherwise, at a distance, it looks great. The Plasma looks good close and far away.

The plasma has a clear crisp picture, that the LCD does not.

·
Premium Member
18,804 Posts
Get a 720p LCD with at least 120hz that fits your budget. The more HDMI connectivity the better off you will be in the long run.