Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
or is it just me??????
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I have seven tabs open on my browser, and this is the only one that takes a long time to load!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I think they just fixed it, now everything is loading fast!
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,184 Posts
It seems that it's been slow for a number of days now. Traffic has been way up, the ice fishermen are flocking to the site like mad and working the database server extra hard. There's not too much I can do, but I'm keeping an eye on it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
15,073 Posts
QUOTE(Capt'n Mike @ Jan 14 2010, 01:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>It seems that it's been slow for a number of days now. Traffic has been way up, the ice fishermen are flocking to the site like mad and working the database server extra hard. There's not too much I can do, but I'm keeping an eye on it.
Migrate the database to a multi-node Oracle clustered database. I know someone who can do the conversion and set up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,943 Posts
Varying site load would seem consistent with what I've been seeing of late. Everything is fine for a bit, than it's several minutes of very slow. Sometimes 2 or 3 minutes to load a page slow.

Not complaining. Just sayin'
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,424 Posts
I'm not complaining either because this site is a great source of information and fun.

But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

A very minor inconvenience.

Matt
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,184 Posts
QUOTE(tcg @ Jan 14 2010, 04:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm not complaining either because this site is a great source of information and fun.

But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

A very minor inconvenience.

Matt

That is always a good idea!

CTRL-A
CTRL-C

Easy enough!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
22,943 Posts
QUOTE(Capt'n Mike @ Jan 14 2010, 04:43 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>QUOTE(tcg @ Jan 14 2010, 04:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm not complaining either because this site is a great source of information and fun.

But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

A very minor inconvenience.

Matt

That is always a good idea!

CTRL-A
CTRL-C

Easy enough!

Or the Mac way, drag-n-drop. I've been doing that too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,047 Posts
QUOTE(tcg @ Jan 14 2010, 04:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

I do the same.

And if it locks up while posting, do not reload. Go back to the forum page and reload there - chances are your post is there.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
21,452 Posts
QUOTE(tcg @ Jan 14 2010, 04:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I'm not complaining either because this site is a great source of information and fun.

But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

A very minor inconvenience.

Matt

Copy....I do the same.

QUOTE(Pornodave @ Jan 14 2010, 05:18 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>QUOTE(tcg @ Jan 14 2010, 04:37 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>But I have started copying my posts before I hit add reply because I never know when it will not go through or get an error. That way I don't have to retype if it does choke. I suspect it is the reason for a lot of double posts. People aren't sure if it went through so they post again.

I do the same.

And if it locks up while posting, do not reload. Go back to the forum page and reload there - chances are your post is there.


Yep, I've learned to do the same thing.
 
1 - 20 of 38 Posts
Top