Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Stopped by the boat on my way to Cabelas Sunday AM only to find out that my older Lowrance GPS/Fishfinder was stolen
I know it was my [email protected]#* fault for leaving it on. It could have been worse that was the only thing they took. While down at Cabelas I started to look at the new Lowrance HDS models with the 7 & 8 inch screen. Let me just say they are not giving those away!!
Any info on these models would be great and are they really worth that kind of money.

·
Registered
1,671 Posts
I have no experience with the new HD models...I have 2 X28cs on my Bass Cat......

I have been very dissappointed with the quality control at Lowrance..It has taken me over a year and 4 different units to get my system working correctly...I believe if it wasn't for Linda Colt at Lowrance I would have been in big trouble with my purchase..She has been great, but that still doesn't fix the root of the problem...
I have heard that owners are struggling with the new HD systems also...but that is only second hand information..

If I had to do it all over again I would consider another brand.....Obviously that is just my opinion..

·
Premium Member
3,916 Posts
I'm a Lowrance guy, with two on my boat. But I'm thinking about doing the SI upgrade over the winter. I gotta be honest, I'm thinking about Humminbird. I've watched Lowrance QC decline too and it just seems like there's one issue after another with them, and then besides Linda, issues with customer service. I don't hear those stories with the same frequency with HB. And yeah, there may be more Lowrance owners, and thus more problems. But at a glance, it just seems like Lowrance QC is on it's way down and HB is on it's way up.

·
Registered
3,033 Posts
My Dad has (2) X28s and I know that although he gave $1000 for each of them, he wouldn't take a million dollars for them - he loves them that much.

·
Premium Member