Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going to be fishing out by metro park (16 jefferson) tomorrow morning about 6am. I am going for walleye but will also be looking for perch and pan fish. I am new to the sport of fishing, but am loving every second of it. I'm not sure what type of lure to use for the walleye. I am going to be renting a 12ft boat with an 8hp motor on it to go on the water. It does not have a trolling motor. I tried a 1oz bottom bouncer with a bottom crawler on it a few days ago but no walleye. We caught 2 perch and 6 sun fish on it though. Any suggestions on what to use for lure? I have a medium rod with a 10lb tes and a shamano sedona 2500 reel. Also....I wouldn't mind getting a pike, but again not sure what to use for lure. I know thats a lot but hopefully you guys can help me out.

·
Registered
735 Posts
personally, i would stick to your set up. it's just the matter of locating them and keeping on top of them. an 8hp motor on a 12 ft boat would be perfect to troll with, just dont go too fast, stay w/in 1-2mph. good luck

·
Registered
297 Posts
I agree. hey matt you wouldnt happen to be one of the guys that got stopped by the sheriff the other day were you?

·
Registered
4,514 Posts
i will be out there to thanks to the guys info from yesterday. use a walleye harness with differrent size split shots to keep it just above the weeds drift between metro piont and nine mile piont in 8-10 fow i will be in a blue 16ft tri hull i am looking for a weekday evening fishing partner i go 2-3 times a week i dont have nothing fancy for a boat but it floats and runs i am slowly adding gear to it though my only rule is that you have fun fishing and enjoy yourself no getting upset over everything

·
Registered
4,514 Posts