Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was wondering if any of you BFL boaters would like to enter with me to get "entry priority". I really don't understand the beneifits as this will be my first year as a co-angler, but I see a lot of people in other divisions getting paired up. Let me know soon as I will be registering in a week or so.

Also, since this is my first year, can everyone give me a rough list of what I should and should not bring on tournament day. I normally fish out of my own boat and it is plenty full, so I know I can't bring all my stuff. I don't want to end up without the go-to bait/rod either. Any other tips would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

JS

·
LSCN Sponsor
2,482 Posts
If you sign with a angler/co-angler for the BFL you are guarenteed a spot for which ever you sign up for. Hopefully that makes sense.

As far what to bring, here is my suggestion:

- 4 rods max. The worst thing you can do as a co-angler is bring a boat full of rods. There are many reasons that I could write 5 pages on, but won't. Technically I bet you could get a way with 2 or 3 rods (1 spinning and 1 baitcaster). The hassle of re-tying more often is better than the alternatives.
- 1 normal sized tackle bag. Remember you're only fishing for 1 day not a week. Pick out what you'll need. This doesn't mean you limit your varibility. It just means you don't need to bring a 50pack of every tube color or 10 spinnerbaits that are all the same.
- Rain gear, even if it's not forecast to rain. I've heard horror stories of co-anglers showing up in shorts and a t-shirt because the weather man forcasted temps in the 90's. What they likely forgot about was the 20mph winds that can make for a wet ride as well.
- Food & beverage. A snack or gatorade for you boater will get him on your side as well. I usually have plenty for both me and my co-anglers, but always appreciate the gesture.
- life vest
- $20-$30 for gas