Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice trolling for muskie sorry Bob.I was wondering about the weighs used.I use 4-6 oz on my boards 2-4 on my boat rods and 8 oz on the prop wash.Does this seem ok to start with.I have caught some musky this way and had some hits.But I was wondering if I am doing it right.I also troll anywhere between 3.8 -5.0.I listen to people going 6 for 9 and so on I could never do that the way I am going.Any info I can get would be much appreciated.Thanks

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
When I do that my baits are dancing on top of the water even at slow speeds.Is there a tip on how To keep them down.Should I run my lines back further.Currently I run them back around 30'.Thanks for thr reply back Joe

·
LSCN Sponsor
5,472 Posts
I think I'll take up trolling again. I have an idea and with so many big fish in the system anymore I should do quite well. I know a lot of the fellows usually do between 3 and 4 MPH and I think that is fast enough for most of the trolling. High speeds wil take a lot of fish no doubt but I get bored trolling that fast. Your weights seem right for the speeds and depth your using PAPA. Try some of your lines at 40 or 50 feet. As Muskhunterjoe said he used no weights and I use to long line myself back in the old days and I took a lot of fish this way. At high speeds you will have to let out 100 fet of line or more with no weight. It depends on the lures you are using. My Two bits. Bob

·
Registered
7 Posts
this has been my first year musky fishing, but i think im starting to figure it out. we run our board rods on average about 30ft back with 2oz of weight. our down rods we run 5ft back with 16oz or15ft with 10oz. we have tried long lining, but trying to keep the lures clean proves almost impossible. our board rods take 90% of our fish. we run from on average 4.5mph