Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i am kinda new to both the board and to boating...i purchased a 88 242 formula at the end of last year and i damaged the prop 1st time out this year...i have gotten the prop repaired but in doing so i think something has changed...the rpms are higher now after the prop has been reworked when i am running w.o.t. and they are going above engine recomended specs...i would like to purchase a new one and keep this as a spare...can anyone point me in the right direction to where i can buy one at a reasonable price...and i guess what would be a reasonable price??? prop that is on it now is a mirage plus 21p

·
Registered
2,241 Posts
Couple questions first. What do you have for power? What rpm's are your spinning with the 21?

If you are looking for another Mirage Plus you should pay around $430 - $450 for one. Most marine stores will carry them. If their prices are bad you can get them online for those prices from multple different sites.

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
engine has 330 hp...at the end of last year i was turning 4600 - 4800 rpms and this year it wants to turn 4800 and up after i had the prop fixed after i get the boat all trimmed out...now i also put new plugs, wires and dist cap on before i put it back in the water this year...

·
Registered
2,550 Posts
Sounds about right, actually. Remember that the boat prop is determined by a number of factors, and a big one is weight. When you ran this year, how many people were on the the boat? How much gas? MSD hooked up? H20 tank filled? Cooler on board? 300 - 440 lbs makes a difference. You'd also be suprised in the difference in performance you can get between a hot humid day in the summer, and a cool, dry spring day.