Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The following was sent to me by a person that thought you could renew your vehicle license tag anytime in the month of your birthday. Wrong! You will be fined unless you renew prior to the beginning of your birth month. There are some other changes also that impact boat trailers and more. Be careful after parties and definitly use a designated driver. Check out the website if skeptical.

Jim

http://www.motorists.com/pressreleases/mic...higanfines.html

New Fees Target Michigan Drivers

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 30, 2003

New Fees Target Michigan Drivers

On October 1, new fees, fines and surcharges aimed at generating more
revenue, at the expense of Michigan motorists, goes into effect. Most
drivers don't realize the full extent of the penalties coming their way.

Public Act 165 has instituted new "Driver Responsibility Fees" which
amounts to raised fines and surcharges on traffic tickets. If you have
seven points on your drivers license, you will be paying $100 each year
for two years. And, you will be paying an additional $50 per point for
every point above seven. If you're stopped and you can't present proof of
insurance, you
must pay a $300 fine, even if you later prove you do have insurance.

If you receive an Operating Under the Influence of Liquor (OUIL), not only
do you have to pay your fine, a new $40 surtax, and license reinstatement
fee, but you will also be getting a $1,000 bill each year for the next two
years (courtesy of Governor Granholm and Senator Gilbert).

This additional money will go to local governments and police, county
sheriffs, the State Police, the state General Fund and local fire
departments. This sets a dangerous precedent, as the agencies that issue
tickets will directly profit from them.

"Guaranteeing police a share of motorist fines will lead to further fine
increases down the road," says Eric Skrum of the National Motorists
Association. "It creates a vested interest effect: more police revenue
equals more patrols, which equals more tickets, which equals more revenue.
The state legislature and city governments are sure to put pressure on
police agencies to issue more tickets."

There will be serious unintended consequences. More tickets will make more
motorists subject to the points tax. As more drivers face annual fees of
several hundred dollars to keep their licenses, the poorest will respond
by not paying the fees. "The legislature rammed this through without
investigating the impacts," says Skrum. The points tax was borrowed from
New Jersey, but NMA reports that "In New Jersey, they call this program
'Debtor's Prison.' Poor drivers try driving without a license, incur an
even larger surcharge when they get caught, and go so far in debt to the
state they can never get a driver's license again. This prevents them from
holding a job, and effectively takes them out of the economy." An increase
in unlicensed, unregistered, and uninsured drivers is the probable
outcome. The state cynically estimates that only a little over half of the
points taxes will ever be paid; the rest will be owed by persons unable to

pay and who will never be able to renew their licenses.

See below for a list of the fee increases and how much money will be
extracted from motorists for state purposes.

Michigan Motorist Tax, Fine, and Fee Increases, 2003

Vehicle Fee Increases - Senate Bill 554, Public Act 152 of 2003

Make trailer plates permanent at roughly the former price of 5 to 7 years'
registration
Increase all vehicle registrations by $3, unconstitutionally award $2.25
to State Police.
Add late registration-renewal fee of $10.
Raise vehicle title fees by $3.
Raise auto dealer-license fees from $10 to $75.
Raise used-parts dealer-license fees from $100 to $160.
Raise CDL fee from $20 to $25.
Raise CDL correction fee from $6 to $18.
Raise original chauffeur's license from $20 to $35.
Raise original driver's license from $12 to $25.
Raise license renewal fee from $12 to $18.
Add license-renewal late fee of $7.
Raise minor's restricted license from $5 to $25.
Raise fees for duplicate licenses by $6.

Total revenue increase: $70.1 million/year.
Dispositions:
Michigan State Police $21.8 million/year
Secretary of State $18 million/year
Roads and transit $5.3 million/year
General Fund $25 million/year
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
11,184 Posts
Duplicate topic. Original is HERE.

And for what it's worth, I still believe that you have until the day of your birthday do renew, just not until the last day of the month!
 
1 - 2 of 2 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top