Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a noob to fishing Lake St. Clair and was wondering: where can I get some walleye? I see posts about perch and slabs but nothing about walleye. Is it too early or not enough ice or are the fishers just being tight lipped? I am just trying to put dinner on the table for the family. A walleye would go a long way at dinner. Any info that I should be aware of? Minnows vs grubs, tipups vs jigging. Not looking for exact locations, but general info that would be helpful. Look forward to meeting some of the knowledge anglers out on the ice this weekend.

·
Registered
6,969 Posts
There's not enough ice to get to them. Even then you'll need to hit them at dusk or early dawn for your best chances. Jigging Rapalas, Salmo Chubby Darters, various jigging spoons. I bought a few Lindy Darters (like the Chubby Darters, $1 cheaper) this year & got a walleye on one up in Houghton Lk.

·
Registered
6,511 Posts
best bet for walleye is to go to saginaw river or bay. Good luck and welcome to the site.

·
Registered
76 Posts
QUOTE(BurlakaUS @ Jan 8 2010, 08:54 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I am a noob to fishing Lake St. Clair and was wondering: where can I get some walleye? I see posts about perch and slabs but nothing about walleye. Is it too early or not enough ice or are the fishers just being tight lipped? I am just trying to put dinner on the table for the family. A walleye would go a long way at dinner. Any info that I should be aware of? Minnows vs grubs, tipups vs jigging. Not looking for exact locations, but general info that would be helpful. Look forward to meeting some of the knowledge anglers out on the ice this weekend.

You can always catch walleye through the ice at Harsens Island.

·
Registered
52 Posts