Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Great Lakes area, I have a 19' Bayliner open bow. I have had no problems on the Detroit River or Lake St. Clair, however, some have said that 19' is a little small. I am always seeing smaller boats on the water. Is this a matter of preference, safety, comfort or some lake monster I don't know about? Is there much difference before you get into the larger crusiers, say between a 19' or a 21-22'? Any advice would be greatly welcomed.

Regards,

·
Registered
2,886 Posts
Well Shorthull.
I started with a 19 foot Searay cuddy and I could get around also. Now I have a 225 Crownline Cuddy and I can say that the difference in the 3 1/2 feet is the ride. The boat rides much nicer. You don't get nearly as many hard bumps when it gets rough out there and you can cruise a little faster through the chop. When I had my 19' my cruise speed in rough water was probably 25 mph. Now I can cruise rough water going approx. 40 mph and the ride is still smoother.

The other consideration you need to look at is also the hull deadrise. That makes a difference in how th boat handles waves as well. My SeaRay had a 18 degree deadrise, and my Crownline has a 22 degree deadrise. The bigger deadrise means that the boat cuts through the waves a little bit more than the lower degree deadrise, that will "bob" on top of the waves.

I would definitely have to say that the 225 has made my boating experience far better than I ever had with my Searay and I will also say that Crownline makes a great boat. If you decide to look for bigger, I would suggest you consider the Crownline 225, or one of their other models.

·
Registered
2,550 Posts