Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been out several times this season & it seems that everytime I hook a fish on a tube they have been hooked deep, usually in the gut.

I'm not a professional fisherman but 've caught enough fish not to be considered a rookie. The minute I feel a bump, I reel down & set the hook but the fish are still getting the bait down deep. It seems to happen only with tubes. I was out last Monday and we were using spottails & tubes. I caught just as many smallies on tubes as my buddy caught on live bait which was encouraging but half of the fish were hooked deep. I got the hook out of a few by pushing the eye through the gill & pulling up on the shank. This method works sometimes but I had to cut the line & release the fish with the hook buried to save the fishes life.

As far as I know, I haven't killed a smallie this year but I have lost a lot of tube heads. I use premium equipment with fresh line all the time. I almost always feel everything the bait is doing.

Does anybody have any advice for me on how I can get better hook sets without gut hooking them???

·
Registered
10,622 Posts
Try pinching the barb, you won't lose many and it will be alot easier to remove the hook big time. Also bend the hook out just a bit. Just give it a try and see how much easier it will be to get out. Also using fireline might set the hook faster and they won't get it down so far. Hope this helps.

h2o fireline rules 4+6 lb. smoke color

·
Registered
263 Posts