Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
290 Posts
If your able to make it to the mile rds. I would try there in about 12-18 fow, thowing jerkbaits, rattletraps and cranks. Also you could use live bait, goldershiners or leaches work really well. If you can fish the Bay try the B-bouy area this time of the year or around brunner island.

Bass Ninja

·
Registered
189 Posts
QUOTE(Bass Ninja @ Aug 26 2009, 09:26 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>If your able to make it to the mile rds. I would try there in about 12-18 fow, thowing jerkbaits, rattletraps and cranks. Also you could use live bait, goldershiners or leaches work really well. If you can fish the Bay try the B-bouy area this time of the year or around brunner island.

Bass Ninja

where in the lake is 18fow besides the channels?

·
LSCN Sponsor since 12/07
2,539 Posts
QUOTE(HOMER1127 @ Aug 26 2009, 07:29 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>Hello all I am new to the sport of smallmouth fishing,and want to try the river but i have no idea where to go.Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated thanks.
You're going to have a hard time geting people to suggest where to fish. Most of the spots that people go to for smallies fish pretty small. Meaning that it's a specific drift, from point 'A' to point 'B', at a certain depth. It takes alot of time on the water to find those kind of spots and most guys just aren't going to give them up.

I can tell you that, right now, there are fish from Marine City all the way down to the State Park. That right there eliminates alot of the river and helps narrow your search. But that's still ALOT of water - several miles of water ranging from 3ft. all the way down to 45ft. But the fish are not everywhere within that area. Some flats are great, others stink. Some drifts are good at 20ft., others are good at 32ft. or deeper.