Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
QUOTE(Jason W @ Jul 30 2009, 11:05 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>I am in EMS and I've decided to give fire school a shot, any firemen out there have any advice? I am taking the agility test Saturday at ST clair community college.

Thanks I was told it's just carrying dummys up and down stairs, and dragging hoses but im not sure. It's not written and there won't be any fires,

·
Registered
350 Posts
I am a Firefighter/Medic. When I took my physical agility it consisted of dragging 100ft of charged 2.5inch hose which is pretty hard. Swinging a sledge hammer 15ish times in under a certain amount of time. Had to climb up and down stairs carrying foam containers. Had to drag a 180 lb body 200ft. And climb a ladder truck and pull hose using a rope hand over hand to the top. It been three years so I dont remember all of it. Also different academys do the tests differently. But usually thats the basis of whats on most of the tests. I though it was pretty easy and Im no greek god
I am sure you will do fine and best of luck.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Not sure what test your taking. Most tests now a days are CPAT (or similar). They require some strength, but they require a lot more endurance. Stay focus, most people fail the CPAT the first time through, but pass it after they know what to expect. Good Luck...

·
Registered
3,235 Posts
My daughter has taken & proctored (instructed) agility tests & the fire academy at SC4. She said you should have no problem, no gear is involved, you get breaks between stations, just listen to the instructions & you will do fine. This is not CPAT. She said "good luck!"

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·