Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a recent Club Tournament 3 boats were late for check in and Tounament start time . Does the Boat/Boaters that made check in and offical start time leave the dock , or wait for the rest of the club to show up ?

How long would you wait ?

Should there be any Penalty's or DQ's ?

Thanks in advance for any input !!

·
Registered
927 Posts
i have only been fishing tourneys for 2 years. but when i was with nbaa last year it was a dq if you are late.

i am fishing the aba this year, and its the same thing. aba is a smaller club as it is in its first year, but most of the guys in the club are connected. so if someone is running late, we would call them on a cel phone and find out where they are. if they are close, we will wait.

if someone shows up after the pre tournament meeting, they are dq'd.

madman himself

·
Registered
118 Posts
I have been fishing in a club for over ten years and have been president of a 20 man club during the last five. Our officers have worked hard at setting by-laws and rules that would best fit our club. These rules and bylaws have evolved over the past 5 years and are designed for the structure of our group. The members also know they are enforced. That may sound harsh, but it keeps everyone on the same playing field, avoiding the chance of playing favorites.

Yes there are times when descretion on an issue must be present, but it always works inside the boundries of our rules.

The question is what kind of club do you chose to run and do all the anglers agree with the direction that is set. If all that is understood going in, then issues or surprises should be limited on the day of a tournament.

I can tell you one thing, clubs are not easy to run, but I would not change a minute of the hardships for the fun times we have had.

Good Luck!

George T

·
Registered
666 Posts