Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
737 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pacific crossing

In the doldrums…..

Well we finally got underway on Monday after a week of preparation. We and the yacht (Kay-Tee) are now at 5 00 N and 08 47 W. We will cross the equator in a couple of days, where we will also rendezvous with the Galapagos Islands.

Preparations for the voyage was a pretty serious matter as we had to take into account all eventualities, plenty of food, beer and oh yes …….water, after spending much cash at various Panamanian supermarkets we decided we were ready, then the third member of the team decided he did not want to make the voyage and buggered off back to England, so here we are just 2 of us.

The weather at present is not for sailing vessels, we are in the doldrums, a large area of calm yet unpredictable weather, with hardly any wind, 7 knots at present. Our speed is a measly 5.6 knots (imagine jogging 4300 miles?).

This is my first time sailing, and thus far am enjoying it thoroughly. Early this morning we saw sharks and whales and started trying to catch some fish, no luck yet but I think we'll have a nice fat tuna soon. Talking about food, due to unforeseen delays we provisioned somewhat early and purchase many vacuum packed veggies, then we found we had no room for them in the fridge/freezer and had to store them in one of the vacant cabins, this morning I went into the cabin and found that the vacuum packs had expanded to the size of footballs and were ready to pop, so we had to make an offering to the sharks.

Life on a sailing boat is much different to that on a motor yacht, electricity and water has to be used sparingly, no A/C on this one, but so far I'm having a good time, and it is loaded with electronics. Tomorrow we will install a GPS tracking system that will enable anyone to see exactly where we are and we have internet and telephone via satellite.