Lake St. Clair Fishing Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Here as a lurker most often, and a person who only gets to fish on LSC about 6 times per summer, well I can't take it anymore and need help or at least some confirmation that maybe its not only me. I have been fishing this lake for the last 10 years and pretty much only target smallies. Spring this year was phenomenal and then summer hit, (or didn't).

I fished last friday with my son, we went to a total of 11 spots on the lake from M-59 launch. I went south, turtle out to deeper water by the firecracker, out around Gull island and the twins, over to sand bar etc. We fished from 2 FOW to 20- FOW all depths in between.

I moved all over the lake and we fished for 9 hours. I am usually very patient when it comes to fishing, we threw tubes, lipless cranks, cranks, body baits and only 1 rock bass. We did have two very large hits, that bit off thinking maybe pike or muskie near weeds. But for the first time ever on this lake, no smallies....depression is very deep now.

My question is why can't I find the fish? What am I doing, I have spots on my GPS that have produced same time of year, year after year and go there and don't get a single hit. Do I need to go to live bait (just kidding) I read this site all the time and see the large bags that the tournament guys are still getting. I understand that they fish this body of water all the time, but really what is up with the lake. I am just venting as I know fishing is fishing and not catching, however someone that has spent years on this water and "thinks" he knows how to catch them, is really struggling.

So please any insight would be good for the soul.

thanks,

Don

·
Premium Member
18,804 Posts